Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Stock Code: 0017)

CLOSURE OF REGISTER OF MEMBERS

On 29 September 2011, the board of directors (the "Board") of New World Development Company Limited (the "Company") resolved to recommend to the shareholders of the Company at the annual general meeting of the Company to be held on Tuesday, 22 November 2011 ("2011 AGM") a final dividend of HK\$0.28 per share for the year ended 30 June 2011 comprising a cash dividend of HK\$0.01 per share and a scrip dividend equivalent to HK\$0.27 per share with a cash option to shareholders of the Company as registered on Friday, 25 November 2011. In order to qualify for the proposed final dividend, all transfers accompanied by the relevant share certificates must be lodged with the Company's share registrar, Tricor Tengis Limited, at 26/F., Tesbury Centre, 28 Queen's Road East, Hong Kong not later than 4:30 p.m. on Friday, 25 November 2011.

To ascertain shareholders' eligibility to attend and vote at the 2011 AGM, the register of members of the Company will be closed from Tuesday, 15 November 2011 to Tuesday, 22 November 2011, both days inclusive, during which period no transfer of shares will be effected. In order to qualify to attend and vote at the 2011 AGM, all transfers accompanied by the relevant share certificates must be lodged with the Company's share registrar, Tricor Tengis Limited, at 26/F., Tesbury Centre, 28 Queen's Road East, Hong Kong not later than 4:30 p.m. on Monday, 14 November 2011.

By Order of the Board
Wong Man-Hoi
Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 13 October 2011

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of the Company comprises (a) six executive directors, namely Dato' Dr. Cheng Yu-Tung, Dr. Cheng Kar-Shun, Henry, Dr. Sin Wai-Kin, David, Mr. Liang Chong-Hou, David, Mr. Cheng Chi-Kong, Adrian and Mr. Cheng Chi-Heng; (b) five non-executive directors, namely, Mr. Cheng Kar-Shing, Peter, Mr. Leung Chi-Kin, Stewart, Mr. Chow Kwai-Cheung, Mr. Liang Cheung-Biu, Thomas and Ms. Ki Man-Fung, Leonie; and (c) four independent non-executive directors, namely Mr. Yeung Ping-Leung, Howard, Dr. Cha Mou-Sing, Payson (alternate director to Dr. Cha Mou-Sing, Payson: Mr. Cha Mou-Zing, Victor), Mr. Ho Hau-Hay, Hamilton and Mr. Lee Luen-Wai, John.